Different ways of terminating an interview

Overview

While collecting data, sometimes, an interview has to be terminated or filtered out due to the survey's logic as indicated in the questionnaire..

SurveyToGo enables you to terminate interviews during their execution in several different methods.

In this How-To we will go over the following termination methods:

  1. Canceling interviews.
  2. Filtering interviews.

 

 Canceling Interviews

In most questionnaires there are logic instructions that require you to terminate the interview – for example during the screening process. In many situations you will not be interested in the data collected during the screening process thus indicating SurveyToGo to not save the collected data while terminating it. This is referred to as canceling the interview.

Canceled interviews will not be saved on the device hence, are not uploaded to the server and do not show in the operations grid. Canceled interviews are not recorded nor credited from your organization credit balance.

Let's say we have a single choice question asking for the respondent's age group:


For Example, we would want to cancel all interviews which are conducted with respondents that are not within the 18-60 age group, we would have to add it in the 'Jump Rules' section of the question.


Here's how adding a jump rule is done: How To Add Jump Rules


Add a jump rule saying that if the answer to this age group question is other than '18-60` , Cancel the interview:


The jump rule shown above will cancel our interview and bring us back to the 'Start' screen before running a new survey.
If you wish to be prompt before a survey is cancelled, you can tick this feature's checkbox through the survey's properties tab:


Then, when a cancelation occurs, you would be prompt as following:


* 'Yes' will cancel the interview.
*'No' will get back to the question and you would be able to change the answer.

 

Filtering interviews

In many surveys you will be interested in keeping the data collected during the screening process for analysis purposes.

In such cases you will be indicating SurveyToGo to save the collected data while terminating it. This is referred to as Filtering the interview.

Filtered interviews will be saved on the device hence, will get uploaded to the server and show in the operations grid. Filtereded interviews are credited from your organization credit balance.

This is more common to use in later stages of the survey, after collecting information which you would like to save. Let's say we have a single choice question asking for the respondent's favorite brand (after a long questionnaire including general questions, LSM, brand awareness, etc):

 


In this case, we would like to filter all interviews which the favorite brand was not `Brand 3`. Meaning, the survey will continue from this point only if the favorite brand was `Brand 3`. For other answers, the interview will terminate at that point and the data will be saved and uploaded, indicated as filtered.

Add a jump rule saying that if the answer is other than 'Brand 3`, Filter the interview:


Regarding prompts, it is the same as jump rules, you should tick it's feature check box in the 'Survey Properties' tab:


Filtered results are not included in the exporting by default, if you wish to add them to your exporting, 
you should do this manually through the 
exporting wizard:


When exporting to excel, you would be able to see which subjects were filtered out.

Each value different than (-1) is filtered, and the value represents the number of question it was filtered at.


Please note this (as mentioned above):

Canceled results are not counted in your organizations credit balance.
Filtered results do count in your organization credit balance.

That's it!

Was this article helpful?
4 out of 4 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.